Can water Lily’s change colour?

The other year I thinned out my water lilies in our main garden pond to restrict their spread, rejuvenate and also to give spare tubers to friends and family for their own ponds. I kept a few for myself, had repotted these and placed them in my half whiskey barrel pond. That first year I didn’t get any flower in the barrel pond but this year I have two and surprisingly are differently coloured to that of the parent.

Here’s one of the white/yellow flowers in the main pond.

20120630-121021.jpg

..and these pink/red/yellow in the barrel pond.

20120630-121316.jpg

Is this normal? Not that I’m complaining I think they look stunning.

Leave a Reply

