Rambling – Kinder Scout

Eager to test out my new GPS ordnance survey map app called ‘Outside’ for my iPhone I’ve spent the last six hours taking a stroll up and over the high plateau of Kinder Scout in the Peak District.

The app features a rather handy offline browsing feature used for pre downloading maps prior to heading out. This really came in handy as although I had no problems receiving a GPS signal, 3G mobile signal was zero therefore no chance of downloading maps on the go. Simply search the area by name, postcode, poi or manually on the map and download the map tiles you need based on the surrounding area.

The weather this week has be uncommonly summer like for the time of year but today was much cooler and overcast therefore perfect walking weather with not too much cloud to spoil the views.

20120331-172341.jpg

I parked in Edale and headed up into the village.

Past Edale church (noting the time) and past the Ramblers Inn – which I promised myself a pint of cool stuff on my return.

20120331-172839.jpg

There are many routes in the area and I hope to return and sample a few more. Today I headed out of the village and along the start of the Pennine Way.

20120331-173800.jpg

Down through Upper Booth Farm and enjoying the views of the stream below on my left and moorland on the right complete with watchful sheep and playful lambs.

A couple of miles down the trail i reached the bottom of Jacobs Ladder – a very steep trail upwards towards Kinder Scout. Thought I’d take a breather before taking the plunge and got chatting to a group of Mountain bikers who had just cycled down….very brave souls!

20120331-174523.jpg

Taking in the views as I look back. A huge amount of ‘up’ still to go!

20120331-174834.jpg

Almost at the top.

20120331-175803.jpg

20120331-175837.jpg

Resting on one of the giant boulders having a much needed cuppa and enjoying the views. Being a flat plateau there was an icy wind though.

20120331-180101.jpg

At Kinder Low and the trig point….beaten to it by mans best friend 🙂

20120331-180157.jpg

Looking at my app map, I was originally going to turn right here but thought I’d head straight on and towards Kinder Falls.

Looking left t Kinder Reservoir and Manchester City far off in the distance.

20120331-180817.jpg

Walking around the top of Kinder Fall, it’s a looong drop down and very windy up here hence the blurred photos.

20120331-180937.jpg

Finding shelter from the wind and taking a breather whilst I consult my app map.

20120331-181045.jpg

The app allows you to create waypoints which you can use as a guide line along your journey. As I’d taken a detour, I reentered a few waypoints that would seem me cross Edale Moor and back on to the trail again.

Edale Moor, getting wetter and wetter as I picked my way around the peat mud. At one point I lost a walking shoe and had to grab it before it sank 🙂

20120331-181418.jpg

Back on the trail thanks to my app and past the amazing looking gritstone tors. I expected this one to growl ‘Zuel’ from Ghostbusters.

20120331-181812.jpg

Picking my way down the trail back towards Edale for that promised pint!

20120331-182349.jpg

Such a great walk and as I mentioned above there’s so many trails to choose from, from short to long. I’m already plotting waypoints for the next trip!

Leave a Reply

