Hidden paths

I’ve installed a new GPS/ map app onto my iPhone and was keen to try it out during my lunch break (and a great excuse to get out into this summer like sunshine). It’s always nice to have a printed map when we’re out rambling but I do like the idea of having something to track my route or to geotag a particular feature or even photograph.

On my way I noticed a path that was mapped but i never knew existed, especially as the entrance was thick with brush. I’ve been working here for well over 15 years and I never knew this path was here. Curious I picked my way through and was amazed by what presented itself in front of me.

20120328-192039.jpg

Checking my map to make sure I’m not trespassing, the route through the field was listed as a public bridle way.

At the end of the field and another new area to explore. I see many future lunches being enjoyed on that bench!

The woods were alive with birds including quite a few Woodpeckers…I’ll bring my camera next time as my iPhone’s telephoto options are somewhat limited.

The recent warm spell appears to have brought the out a few very early Bluebells.

20120328-192948.jpg

The trees are still bare, but it won’t be long now. Such a great time of year when the buds open.

20120328-193051.jpg

Fifteen minutes later, I’m through the woods and heading back to the office….but checking my watch, I have time to go back and walk the route again. On a day like this I couldn’t resist!

20120328-193407.jpg

Leave a Reply

