The big freeze.

I spent a few hours in the garden tidying up around the veggie beds this afternoon (including the 20 minutes when the garage door slammed shut on me trapping me inside 🙂 )and as there’s still quite a substantial crop of runner beans that would spoil soon, I’ve picked then all for freezing for a later date.

Simply wash, top & tail, blanche for 3 mins then rinse with cold water before drying and finally place in freezer bags. Some of the larger ones I’ll store somewhere dry until they turn brown and brittle for easy picking of the seeds which I’ll replant for  next years crop.

Another excess that we have is courgettes and I didn’t realise you could freeze these too. It’s such a shame to let them go to waste so again, these will be frozen with all the other veg bound for the freezer.

Next weekend I’ll be tidying the greenhouse and getting everything ready for winter storage as well as providing some room for the plants I’ll be over wintering.

Leave a Reply

