Tomato invasion.

It’s surprising  what a little bit more sunshine during the day can do to the greenhouse crops. After the grey & wet fortnight we’ve had,  summer appears to be with us again  (and hopefully for a bit longer).  The once all green tomatoes are all starting to turn red very quickly which at the moment is proving us with much more than we can actually eat, so I’ll be churning out pasta sauces this weekend.

Any of the little ones that fall of prematurely, I move to the kitchen window sill and after a day or two they soon ripen.

..and the biggest surprise I found this evening the greenhouse are that the Aubergines have finally emerged. I really did think that it was going to be a no show on my first attempt so I’m chuffed to bits!

There’s only a few on one plant, but the second has a few clusters of 3-4 each.

I’d given my parents a couple of  plants so I called them to see if they had any growing and likewise they said that they also had found their first this morning. The others, I’d given to a few friends at work so will check with them tomorrow.

It’s only an Aubergine, but it really made my day 🙂

Leave a Reply

