Veggie plot update – July 16th

Spending time in the gardening and working on the  veggie plot hasn’t been easy this week what with all the heavy and frequent showers we’ve been having. I’m not complaining though, the garden really was in need of a good soaking and although grey clouds were looming, I took advantage of the brief dry spell to give the lawns a quick haircut. With everything looking neat and tidy again and still no rain, i though I’d continue to do a few odd jobs around the garden until it did.

Last April, we cut down our cherry blossom tree that  was becoming way to big and unmanageable. Rather than removing the stump altogether, I’d leveled it at about 5ft and sat a bird table on top. However, I really miss that tree and the additional color to the garden it brings with its dark red and purple leaves and really regret cutting it. However, all is not lost though as it’s started to grow back these past few months and so we now have a purple lollipop:-)

Now that I can keep the size in check, the bird table top had to be moved. I dug out the pole and stand out of the garage (I’m so glad i didn’t throw them away), screwed, hammered and swore at it until it was built and moved it near the pond and hedgerow where the garden birds like to hang out.

Our resident collared doves seem to like it but ‘Dwayne’ just can’t seem to figure out where the goodies are!

With the first large drops of rain starting to fall, I spent a few hours in the dry greenhouse sowing a variety of salad leaves & herbs as part of the rotation to keep us well stocked.

As well as picking small leaves for salads, I’ve allowed some of the Swiss Chard to fully grow which we use in stir fries. Like beetroot leaves I really love the coloring on these leaves.

We’re finally picking peas now, except I’m prone to eating them before they make it to the kitchen:-)

As an experiment, I’d sown  lettuce & swiss chard into very small 3″ pots purely to see what results I’d get. So far so good and taking up hardly any room. It’s amazing how much stuff you can pack into just a small area.

More mixed leaf salad tubs. This is one of two that were sown together and forms our third sowing batch. The first has been eaten and therefore fresh seeds have been sown (and just starting to break the surface) and we’re currently eating the second batch.

No ripe tomatoes yet 😦


So far, we’ve had four of the mini cucumbers but none of the larger type yet. There’s two that’s pretty much ready and hoping that this will be the third.

One of my favorite moments in the greenhouse is after not noticing that something is growing until I happen to lift up a leaf or turn around a pot and see it….or, maybe I just need new glasses 😛

Sadly, the Runner Beans are not cropping as well. We’ve had a few but certainly not on the same scale as last year.  Still, it’s all very much trial and error I guess. Likewise, the Aubergines haven’t developed fruit yet. As this is the first time I’ve grown these, I’m not 100% sure is this is o.k at this stage in the season? Overall, the leaves look healthy and are covered with purple flowers. More research is required I think!

I talking to my folks the other day and they’ve just had there first batch of potatoes grown in potato grow sacks. From memory i planted mine a few weeks after theirs so I’ll be checking my first earlies this weekend.

One of my favorites this year are the long cylindrical Raddish’s we’re growing. The shape means you get to eat more per seed 🙂

Apart from a few hiccups, everything seems to be coming along nicely.

Leave a Reply

