Water Lily.

Another scorching hot day today and one that is definitely time for taking it easy.

Relaxing by the pond earlier I spotted that first water lily flower had just started to open. I can see about 20 more buds just below the water surface so hopefully more color to follow.

Despite dividing the lily plants earlier in the year and removing some to my parents pond, they’re stilling covering about 2/3rds of the surface providing plenty of shelter for the fish…or a hiding place in case of another flyby from our local Heron!

Since taking out some of the overgrown Iris’ and various grasses, the main pond is lacking vertical plant interest. Ideally I’d like to plant a dwarf umbrella Cyprus  and am thinking if  I get chance during my day off work tomorrow, a trip to my local aquatic store is in order.

Over in the barrel pond, there’s plenty going on with the Marsh Marigolds and blue/white Myosotis in bloom. The zebra grass is one of my favorites and I’m also hoping that, unlike its first year, the dwarf iris will flower.

Leave a Reply

