Fujifilm HS-10 Lens Hood.

It’s a shame that Fujifilm didn’t include a lens hood with their new camera, however, as a Canon owner I’m used to having to purchase this useful bit of kit for each of my lens!

After a quick search on eBay and I found a suitable and inexpensive bayonet hood to fit the 58mm thread on the HS-10.

This simply screws onto the end of the lens – which is made even easier by the  raised thread grip.

Much better, it seemed naked without one!  A quick test outside, when the bright sun was setting, to ensure that there’s no unwanted flares or streaks etc as well as ensuring that no part of the hood is visible at the 24mm end of the lens (which it wasn’t).

I also purchased a few essential 58mm filters (UV, CPL & ND Grads etc) which should be here in a few days. Being double threaded types, I should be able to use them in conjunction with this hood.

All I need now is a comfortable strap, the one included in the box lacks padding!

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kenn Murphy said,

    Do you have the seller’s info or link so I can purchase one of these hoods?

    Thanks, Kenn

    • 2

      stiggyworld said,

      Hi Ken,

      Here’s the link from the seller that i brought from. To be honest, simple searching on eBay for HS-10 lens hood or 58mm lens hood, should return the results you require.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Regards

      StiGGy

  2. 3

    Nice post! I just have a question. I recently bought a Nikon D5000 and the kit that comes along with doesn’t have a lens hood. When I bought a lens hood, I tried shooting with it. Some shots that are zoomed out creates a black blurry dark object/shade on each side of the picture and it doesn’t look good for me. I guess it is because of the lens hood. Do you think I got the wrong lens hood? it is a flower type/petal type lens hood.

    • 4

      stiggyworld said,

      Hello there, love the D5000, great camera!. Well, for my Canon DLSR I generally go for Canon’s own hoods specific for the model of Canon lens which i guess eliminates this problem. I’ve also used 3rd party hoods and most are fine, but a few I’ve experience the same problems as yourself.

      I also have this problem with my Fuji HS-10’s hood and is only rectified if i take off the UV filter i’d attached to the lens.

      If you can, i’d recommend getting a branded hood specific to you lens manufaturer i.e Nikon Lens = Nikon Hood.

  3. 5

    Swapnil said,

    Hi Stiggyworld!!!!!!!
    Its a nice post. I too looked out for HS10 lens hood. My doubt was that can 58mm lens supporting Canon 1000D and 500D could get adjusted for HS10.
    PLEASE DO REPLY

    Thanks In Advance.

  4. 6

    Swapnil said,

    Hii Stiggworld!!!!!!!
    I too have Fujifilm HS10. So I looked on eBay for lens hood and found out one.HS10 requires 58mm lens hood.Thats alright and the product is of too 58mm but the thing is that it is for Canon D1000 and D500 and other range of DSLR camera of Canon.So can it be accommodated with HS10 and its picture are similar to the above given images.

    PLEASE DO REPLAY
    THANKS IN ADVANCE.

  5. 7

    stiggyworld said,

    Hi Swapnil,

    I don’t think the Canon lens hoods will fit as these tend to be a bayonet type as apposed to a HS-10 that requires a screw type i.e a bit like a lens filter.

    Regards

    StiGGy


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

