First seeds ordered for this years vegetable garden.

Although I usually purchase my veggie seeds/plants from local nurseries, there’s a couple that have caught my attention on the web this past week. I’ve just placed my order and am eagerly awaiting delivery.

Firstly, we have Aubergines, something I’ve never grown before. I’ve chosen a compact variety which I intend to grow in large tubs in the greenhouse.

A very decorative baby-fruited Aubergine. Ophelia produces an abundance of beautiful, glossy, dark purple fruits of just 50-60g each. Compact and perfectly suited to the greenhouse or growing on a sunny patio.’

Ophelia – Aubergine

I’ve been musing over trying out Potato grow kits for a while now and think they would make for an ideal experiment this year. Each kit contains x3 Potato Gro-Sacks, x15 Potato tubers and fertiliser.

I’ve decided to go for a couple of ‘Taster’ packs which consist of first earlies, second earlies/salad & main crop.

Here’s the varieties I’ll be growing –

Swift ‘The extra-early’ first early with a delicate new potato taste. Gives high yields of oval white skinned Potatoes.’

Charlotte – ‘A favorite salad potato recommended by top chefs for it’s mouth-watering flavour!’

Maris Peer – ‘Remarkable purple scented flowers and superb flavour. The perfect Patio Potato.’


With limited space left in the veggie beds this year, I think these grow bags should be perfect for extending my growing area…and hopefully produce a bumper crop!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    ephoto79 said,

    wow, these grow bags are amazing!!!

    Maybe I should grow potatoes.. I love Potatoes, and they are quite expensive!!

    MMM, now I’m thinking!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

