New camera lens?

I’m toying with the idea of getting a new camera lens for Christmas. Something that’s better  optically than my Canon kit 18-55mm lens but a smaller range than my Tamron 28-300mm. Something I can use an everyday lens when a large telephoto isn’t required.

I’ve been researching for quite a while now and may settle on either the Canon EF28-135mm IS USM or the Canon EF-S 17-85mm IS USM. Both have image stabilisation,  fast/silent USM auto focus & won’t break the bank unlike the ‘L’ series.

Canon EF-S 17-85mm F/4-5.5 IS USM

Canon EF 28-135mm F3.5/5.6 IS USM

I got chatting to a fellow photographer at work who owns the 28-135mm and kindly offered to bring it in for me to take a test drive. So, the next day, I brought my camera in, swapped over the lens & went out for a stroll at lunchtime to take a few snaps.

It’s a weighty beast & makes my 18-55mm feel like a toy from a Christmas cracker. This is the first time i’ve used a USM lens and although the noise/or no noise in the case doesn’t bother me either way, the auto focus is lightning fast. The manual focus ring also extremely precise unlike my other two lenses & is conveniently closer to the camera body rather than in the middle of the lense or in the case of my 18-55mm, at furthest end.

Here’s a few sample shots which I’d taken hand-held.

How this stacks up against the the 17-85mm, I have no idea. Decisions decisions & more research i think…and possibly a trip to Jessops!

Leave a Reply

