Macro Filters for my Canon 450d

One great thing I love about my Fuji 5800 camera is the fantastic Macro (and ‘Super’ Macro) mode and since buying my Canon 450d, I’ve always wanted a dedicated Macro lens. My standard 18-55mm kit lens isn’t bad, but it’s nothing like what can be achieved with a dedicated 1:1 Macro Lens. In time, I aim buy one but for for now I thought I’d try out some of the (really) cheap macro filters you can find online.

I brought mine on eBay at the ‘buy it now’ price of £10 and they arrived this morning after being shipped from Poland  – odd, the sellers address was in Scotland!

I wasn’t expecting much but the quality of the contents surprised me somewhat. In addition to the four filters there’s  a rather nice storage wallet for them and a mini tripod. My first thought was to bin the tripod but after having played around with it, I must say, it’s actually quite good and somehow takes the weight of my camera!

IMG_2864 (683x1024)

Each filter is threaded and simply screws onto the end of my lens and acts as a magnifying glass. They’re rated as the following magnification – +1, +2, +4 and +10. Even better, each filter is threaded on both ends so they can be stacked and fitted as one unit to give even greater magnification.

IMG_2863 (1024x683)

Here’s a few test shots –

This one was taken with my standard Canon 18-55mm kit lens without any filters attached.

IMG_2846 (1024x683)

This one with the +2 filter attached

IMG_2847 (1024x683)

This, with the +4 filter attached…focusing becoming harder.

IMG_2849 (1024x683)

..and finally this was taken with all four filters attached..AF was having problems so had to switch to manual.

IMG_2850 (1024x683)

Here’s a few more test shots taken with all four filters attached.

IMG_2851 (1024x683)

Pea gravel

IMG_2858 (1024x683)

Tomato bud.

IMG_2856 (Large)

Another strawberry.

IMG_2852 (Large)

This looks like something out of a Sci-Fi film, it’s actually a courgette flower 🙂

IMG_2855

All in all I’m REALLY pleased and for only £10 I’d highly recommend them.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    iheartfilm said,

    I try to avoid close-up filters, but if you’re pleased with them, I say have fun.

  2. 3

    Peter said,

    Hi Stiggy, that’s a great post. I have been thinking about what to buy, macro filter, extension tube or macro lens? It is nice to see the result of your test. Yeah, it defo worths 10 quid.

    • 4

      stiggyworld said,

      Hi Peter,

      Well…ideally i’d like to get a dedicated 1:1 Macro lens but am just waiting for ‘permission’ from my wife to go get one 🙂 A friend at work uses extension tubes to great effect but for now, i’m really pleased with this very low cost alternative. I think the only problem is the very small ‘sweet spot’ when focusing is to get tack sharp photos but i’m starting to take multiple shots and merge them as one master macro picture in Photoshop

      I’ve just ordered another 62mm set for my Tamron telephoto.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

